The Münchner Stadtmuseum is partially open for individual visitors.

On view are the special exhibitions "Paragons Afterimages. Photographs from the Berlin University of the Arts 1850-1930" and "Ready to go! Shoe-motion".
The permanent exhibition „Typically Munich!“ will be open from Tuesday, 14 July. The permanent exhibitions National Socialism in Munich, Music and Puppet Theater / Fairground Attractions will remain closed until further notice.

The cinema has restarted its screenings. The Munich Film Museum also continues to offer its online program.

Until further notice, we are not able to offer public tours or any kind of exhibition programme for groups at the Münchner Stadtmuseum. For questions, please contact us via e-mail: buchung.stadtmuseummuenchende.

News

About the Münchner Stadtmuseum

The scale of this museum is only really evident from the air. The extensive site comprises two spacious interior courtyards that are framed by four unusually diverse buildings. The oldest of these, the historic armory built in 1500, faces St.-Jakobs-Platz. The collections annex, which was designed by Gustav Gsaenger at the end of the 1950s, extends to Rindermarkt; the medieval royal stables – which were reconstructed in 1977 – reach as far as Sebastiansplatz. Both in terms of its physical magnitude and the scope of its collections, it is Germany's largest municipal museum.

 

Film Museum – Cinema

With its special program of movie screenings, the Munich Film Museum has become a popular haunt for cinema aficionados. The program, which changes on a daily basis, features comprehensive retrospectives, selected premieres, and theme-related film series including both German and international productions. All of the films are screened in their original format and language (with subtitles available in English or German). Silent movies are frequently shown with live musical accompaniment. And directors, actors and other filmmakers often guest at podium discussions following the showings. The Film Museum is a regular venue for festivals such as Dok.fest. the Munich Film Festival, and the International Festival of Filmschools. Located in the former Royal Stables building of the Münchner Stadtmuseum, the Filmmuseum offers top sound and (digital) film technology, seating for 165, and a silver screen that is also suitable for 3D films.

 

To the Film Museum


Plan Your Visit

Opening hours

Tuesday – Sunday 10 am – 6 pm
Closed on Mondays

OpenWednesdayEvening!
Every 2nd Wednesday of the month selected exhibitions at the Münchner Stadtmuseum are open until 8 pm

Munich Film Museum Screenings
Tuesday – Sunday 8 pm
Screening times may change if the film exceeds standard duration

Getting here

S/U-Bahn station: Marienplatz
U-Bahn station: Sendlinger Tor
Bus 52/62 stop: St.-Jakobs-Platz

Contact

St.-Jakobs-Platz 1
80331 München
Phone +49-(0)89-233-22370
Fax +49-(0)89-233-25033
E-Mail stadtmuseummuenchende
E-Mail filmmuseummuenchende

Ticket reservation
Phone +49-(0)89-233-96450

Das Münchner Stadtmuseum ist wieder teilweise geöffnet.

Zu sehen sind aktuell die Dauerausstellungen "Typisch München!" mit „Migration bewegt die Stadt. Perspektiven wechseln“ und die Sammlung Puppentheater/Schaustellerei sowie die Sonderausstellung "Ready to go! Schuhe bewegen".

Die Dauerausstellungen "Nationalsozialismus in München" und die Sammlung Musik bleiben bis auf weiteres noch geschlossen.

Seit dem 28.07.2020 sind Gruppenführungen mit max. 10 Personen inkl. Guide möglich. Information und Buchung per E-Mail: buchung.stadtmuseum@muenchen.de oder Tel. +49-(0)89-233-27979

Das Filmmuseum hat den Spielbetrieb wieder aufgenommen. Zusätzlich bietet es weiter sein Online Programm an.

Aktuell

Veranstaltungen & Filme

Über das Münchner Stadtmuseum

Wie groß dieses Haus eigentlich ist, sieht man so richtig erst aus der Luft: Das riesige Areal besteht aus zwei geräumigen Innenhöfen, die von vier höchst unterschiedlichen Bauteilen eingerahmt werden. Das älteste Gebäude, das historische Zeughaus aus dem Jahr 1500, ist zwar zum St.-Jakobs-Platz hin orientiert, berührt aber auch den Rindermarkt mit dem vom Architekten Gustav Gsaenger Ende der 1950er Jahre errichteten Sammlungstrakt und den Sebastiansplatz mit dem Nachbau des mittelalterlichen Marstallgebäudes aus dem Jahre 1977. Nicht allein wegen seiner Ausdehnung...

Filmmuseum München – Kino

Das Filmmuseum München ist mit seinem speziellen Kinoprogramm ein beliebter Treffpunkt für Cineasten. Auf dem täglich wechselnden Programm stehen umfassende Retrospektiven, thematische Filmreihen mit deutschen und internationalen Produktionen und ausgewählte Erstaufführungen. Die Filme werden grundsätzlich in der Originalfassung (mit deutschen oder englischen Untertiteln) und im Originalformat gezeigt. Stummfilme kommen oft mit Live-Musikbegleitung zur Aufführung. Regelmäßig sind Regisseure, Schauspieler und andere Filmschaffende zu Gast und diskutieren nach der Vorführung mit dem Publikum. Das Filmmuseum ist eine bewährte Spielstätte für Festivals wie DOK.fest, Filmfest München und das Internationale Festival der Filmhochschulen. Im historischen Marstallhaus des Münchner Stadtmuseums gelegen, bietet das Kino mit seinen 165 Plätzen hochwertige Bild- und Tontechnik sowie eine Silberleinwand, auf der auch 3D-Vorführungen möglich sind.

Weiter zum Filmmuseum


Besucherinformation

Öffnungszeiten

Dienstag - Sonntag 10.00-18.00 Uhr
Montags geschlossen

MittwochAbendGeöffnet!
Jeden 2. Mittwoch im Monat sind ausgewählte Ausstellungen des Münchner Stadtmuseums bis 20.00 Uhr geöffnet.

Filmmuseum – Vorstellungen
Dienstag - Sonntag 20.00 Uhr
Bei Überlänge andere Uhrzeiten

Anfahrt mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln

S/U-Bahn Station Marienplatz
U-Bahn Station Sendlinger Tor
Bus 52/62 Haltestelle St.-Jakobs-Platz

Kontakt

St.-Jakobs-Platz 1
80331 München
Tel. +49-(0)89-233-22370
Fax +49-(0)89-233-25033
E-Mail stadtmuseummuenchende
E-Mail filmmuseummuenchende

Kinokasse
Tel. +49-(0)89-233-96450