December 11, 2015 - February 14, 2016
Forum 038: Jessica Zaydan – Never Break Your Heart

In the Forum exhibition “Never Break Your Heart”, photography artist Jessica Zaydan explores her past as a fan of the Backstreet Boys, the world’s most successful boy band.

“From now on, my name is Jessica Carter!”, reads an entry in Jessica Zaydan’s diary from 1996, recounting her love affair with the band’s youngest member, Nick Carter. Following a chance encounter with Nick at a bus stop when the band is in town for a concert, Jessica abandons her family and friends and escapes with him to his family mansion in Florida where they spend an amazing summer together. That, at least, is what happens in the fantasy world of 13-year-old Jessica who was a huge Backstreet Boys fan at the time and head-over-heels in love with Nick Carter. Her diaries and photos from back then are declarations of love to unattainable idols, and document an almost-forgotten phase between childhood and adolescence, a time when everything seemed possible.

Nearly 20 years later, Jessica Zaydan has decided to give herself a reality check, in tragicomic style. In 2014, she booked herself onto a cruise with the no-longer-quite-so-young boy band. The cruise party, a group of almost exclusively female fans, is treated to beach concerts and Q & A sessions with the band members, interspersed with shopping events and a fitness program. The perfect opportunity to get right up close to – and perhaps even touch – the stars of yesteryear and pose with them for a selfie.

Jessica Zaydan: Fans on the cruise © Jessica Zaydan
Jessica Zaydan: Fans on the cruise ship © Jessica Zaydan
Jessica Zaydan: Nick and I, 2014 © Jessica Zaydan
Jessica Zaydan: Nick and I, 1997 © Jessica Zaydan

Jessica Zaydan combines her photographs and a video from the cruise with diary entries and photos from when she was a teenager. The result is a collage pieced together from fragments of dreams and reality which also quirkily documents the dramatic comedown from the status of an international star to one of a B-list celebrity that is the experience of so many pop stars who had their heyday around the turn of the millennium.

Biography
Jessica Zaydan was born in Saarbrücken, Germany in 1983. After completing an apprenticeship as a media designer, she studied Photo Design at the Munich University of Applied Sciences, and then Fine Art and Photography at the Munich Academy of Fine Arts. Since 2013, she has been studying Photography and the Moving Image at the Academy of Visual Arts in Leipzig. Jessica Zaydan was awarded a studio artist’s grant by the City of Munich from 2010 to 2014. In 2015, her work “Never Break Your Heart” won the Akademieverein München prize. Her work has been shown in a number of group exhibitions.

11. Dezember 2015 – 14. Februar 2016
Forum 038: Jessica Zaydan – Never Break Your Heart

Die Forums-Ausstellung „Never Break Your Heart“ zeigt die Auseinandersetzung der Fotokünstlerin Jessica Zaydan mit ihrer Vergangenheit als Fan der Backstreet Boys, der erfolgreichsten Boygroup der Welt.

„Von nun an heiße ich Jessica Carter!“, notiert Jessica Zaydan 1996 in ihr Tagebuch, in dem sie die Liebesbeziehung zwischen sich und Nick Carter, dem jüngsten Bandmitglied, beschreibt. Nach einer zufälligen Begegnung mit ihm an der Bushaltestelle – die Band ist für ein Konzert in der Stadt – lässt Jessica ihre Eltern und ihre Freundinnen zurück und begleitet Nick nach Florida in die Villa seiner Familie, wo sie einen aufregenden Sommer gemeinsam verbringen. So weit die Phantasiewelt der 13-jährigen Jessica Zaydan, die zu dieser Zeit großer Fan der Backstreet Boys und unsterblich in Nick Carter verliebt ist. Ihre Tagebücher und Fotos aus dieser Zeit sind Liebeserklärungen an unerreichbare Idole und zeugen von jener fast vergessenen Phase zwischen Kindheit und Adoleszenz, in der alles möglich schien.

Fast 20 Jahre später unterzieht sich Jessica Zaydan einem tragikomischen Realitätstest. 2014 bucht sie eine Reise auf einem Kreuzfahrtschiff mit der inzwischen gealterten Boygroup. Konzerte am Strand, Fragestunden mit den Bandmitgliedern, dazwischen Fitnessprogramm und Shopping-Events für die fast ausschließlich weiblichen Fans. Hier kann man den Stars von einst nah sein, sie anfassen und mit ihnen für Selfies posieren. 

Jessica Zaydan: Fans auf der Kreuzfahrt © Jessica Zaydan
Jessica Zaydan: Fans auf dem Kreuzfahrtschiff © Jessica Zaydan
Jessica Zaydan: Nick und ich, 2014 © Jessica Zaydan
Jessica Zaydan: Nick und ich, 1997 © Jessica Zaydan

Die Fotografien und ein Video, die während der Kreuzfahrt aufgenommen wurden, kombiniert Jessica Zaydan mit Tagebucheinträgen und Fotos aus ihrer Teenagerzeit. So entsteht eine Collage aus Fragmenten von Träumen und Wirklichkeit, die gleichzeitig auf skurrile Art vom freien Fall vom Weltruhm zum B-Promi zeugt, den viele Popstars der Jahrtausendwende inzwischen erleben mussten.

Biografie
Jessica Zaydan wurde 1983 in Saarbrücken geboren. Nach einer Ausbildung zur Mediengestalterin studierte sie Fotodesign an der Hochschule für angewandte Wissenschaften München und anschließend Freie Kunst und Fotografie an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste München. Seit 2013 studiert sie Fotografie und Bewegtbild an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst in Leipzig. Von 2010 bis 2014 erhielt Jessica Zaydan eine Atelierkünstlerförderung der Stadt München, 2015 gewann sie für die Arbeit „Never Break Your Heart“ den Preis des Akademievereins München. Ihre Arbeiten wurden bei verschiedenen Gruppenausstellungen gezeigt.