Music Collection

A "sound museum" is what the Munich collector and founder of the "Städtische Musikinstrumenten-Sammlung" (Municipal Musical Instrument Collection), Georg Neuner (1904-1962), had in mind. Along with the beauty and multiformity of musical instruments, it was their use in diverse cultures that served as the criterion for Neuner’s collecting, which embraced every conceivable kind of sound production.

In our time of "depersonalized" and virtualized sound, this type of approach is more important than ever. Few people know why the sounds of an Indian sitâr or a Ugandan amadina xylophone seem so strange to our ears. Fewer still understand the acoustic secrets of Javanese gongs or a German viola d’amore, or indeed which developments were necessary before today’s elaborate, and often highly mechanical, orchestral instruments could be crafted. Long before the advent of mp3 and record players, our Western world sought numerous ways of mechanizing music, as music boxes and orchestrions testify.

Besides well-known instrument makers from Munich like Michael Saurle (1772-1845, brass instruments), Theobald Böhm (1794-1881, transverse flutes) and Hermann Hauser (1882-1952, strings), the Music Collection also features international masters. These include the brothers Antonius and Hieronymus Amati (1555/56-1640, violin), Adolphe Saxe (1814-1894, an entire set of saxophones) and Georges Cousineau (1733-1800, several harps).

Darabukka, Egypt around 1980
Gamelan teacher from Bali with pupils, Munich, 2009
Serpent, Germany, first half of the 17th century
Viola d'Amore (detail), Paulus Alletsee, Munich, 1724
Orchestrion made by Josef Stern of Villingen around 1878
Machine timpani in G, made by the company Kaltenecker, Munich, 1870
Gamelan “Kyai Dipa”  (gendèr and gongs) from Java, Empu Resowiguno, Wirun, 1986
Fortepiano, Johann Andreas Stein, Augsburg, 1790

The collection also encompasses instruments whose makers, while little known in the West, are revered in their home countries. Among these artists are Empu Resowigno (gamelan, Wirun, Java/Indonesia, 1986), Kanai Lal Das (sitar lute, Calcutta/India, 1940)) and Amin and Sayyed Amin (oud lute, Cairo/Egypt, 1980). However, the makers of the vast majority of instruments are unknown – nameless people whose ingenuity enabled them to create incredibly formed instruments and outstanding sounds with the most basic of materials. Of the 6,000 musical instruments and sound sources in the present collection, more than half are of non-European origin, exemplifying the global vision of the collection’s founder. It is this diversity that renders the Collection Music at the Münchner Stadtmuseum one of the finest of its type.

Of course, the instruments alone give us no insights into the world of sound. Why is it that we dismiss so many kinds of music as "caterwauling"? It is our listening habits that we need to address. The sensation of "beautiful sound" depends on numerous factors: it is neither innate nor absolute. We can train ourselves to listen better. For this reason the Music Collection presents its regular series of selected concerts and Sunday matinees. The matinees also provide opportunities for institutes of music education – music schools, youth orchestras and ensembles – to perform in public.

Complementing these concerts, visually-oriented guided tours highlight the connections between musical instruments and explain their heritage and origins. Trying out a Javanese or Balinese gamelan, or playing with others in an orchestra or ensemble, enable us to experience and appreciate different musical cultures, helping us to relativize basic tenets of musical aesthetics and pedagogy and have fun in the process.

Bildarchiv

Professional-quality digital image files of the exhibits in the various collections can be obtained from our picture gallery. Please refer to the german Bildarchiv for details.

A selection of portraits from the Münchner Stadtmuseum’s total holding is available in our portrait collection.

Sammlung Musik

Es war ein „Klangmuseum“, das sich der Münchner Sammler und Gründer der „Städtischen Musikinstrumentensammlung“ Georg Neuner (1904-1962) vorstellte. Neben der Schönheit und den vielfältigen Formen der Musikinstrumente war für ihn deren Gebrauch in den verschiedenen Kulturen ein Anhaltspunkt für das Sammeln, das sich auf jedwede Art der Klangerzeugung richtete.

Dieser Ansatz ist heute in der Zeit der „Entpersönlichung“ und Virtualisierung der Klänge aktueller denn je. Wenigen ist bekannt, wieso die Klänge einer indischen sitâr oder eines ugandischen amadinda-Xylophons für unsere Ohren so merkwürdig beschaffen sind, wo sich das klangliche Geheimnis eines javanischen gong oder einer deutschen viola d'amore findet oder welche Entwicklungen es brauchte, bis wir unsere heutigen, oftmals mit hohem mechanischen Aufwand versehenen Orchesterinstrumente erhalten haben. Auch gab es in der westlichen Welt bereits vor Plattenspielern und mp3-Playern viele Versuche, die Musik zu mechanisieren, was Spielautomaten und Orchestrien zeigen.

Neben bekannten heimischen Instrumentenbauern wie Michael Saurle (1772-1845) mit Blechblasinstrumenten, Theobald Böhm (1794-1881) mit Querflöten oder Hermann Hauser (1882-1952) mit Saiteninstrumenten, sind in der Sammlung Musik auch internationale Meister vertreten, darunter die Brüder Antonius (1555-1640) & Hieronymus (1556-1630) Amati mit einer Violine, Adolphe Sax (1814-1894) mit einem ganzen Saxophon-Satz oder Georges Cousineau (1733-1800) mit mehreren Harfen.

Darabukka, Ägypten
Gamelan-Lehrer aus Bali mit Orchester
Serpent, Deutschland, erste Hälfte 17. Jahrhundert
Viola d'Amore (Detail), Paulus Alletsee, München, 1724
Orchestrion, Josef Stern, Villingen, um 1878
Maschinenpauke in G, Firma Kaltenecker, München, 1870
Gamelan Kyai Dipa
Hammerflügel, Johann Andreas Stein, Augsburg, 1790

Aber auch Instrumente gehören der Sammlung an, deren Hersteller bei uns wenig bekannt, in ihren Ursprungsländern jedoch hoch geachtet sind, z.B. Empu Resowiguno (Gamelan, Wirun/Java 1986), Kanai Lal Das (Laute sitâr, Kalkutta/Indien 1940), Amin & Sayyed Amin (Laute oud, Kairo/Ägypten). In der großen Überzahl sind allerdings die vielen namenlosen Instrumentenbauer, deren Ideenreichtum oftmals mit einfachsten Mitteln erstaunliche Formen und große klangliche Ergebnisse hervorbringt. Aus den heute 6.000 Musikinstrumenten und Klangobjekten stammen über die Hälfte aus nichteuropäischen Ländern, was den globalen Ansatz des Sammlungsgründers erkennen lässt. Es ist also die Vielfalt, die die Sammlung Musik des Münchner Stadtmuseums zu den großen Sammlungen ihrer Art macht.

Doch Instrumente alleine geben noch keinen Einblick in die Klangwelten. Warum beurteilen wir viele Musikarten als „Katzenmusik“? Es sind die Hörgewohnheiten der Zuhörenden gefragt, denn was als „schöner Klang“ empfunden wird, hängt von vielen Faktoren ab und ist nicht naturgegeben. Aber Hören ist schulbar. Diesem Ansatz folgt die Sammlung Musik mit einer Reihe ausgewählter Konzerte und Sonntagsmatineen. In den Matineen stellen sich auch Institutionen der Musikausbildung dem Publikum vor (Musikschulen, „Jugend musiziert“).

Auch Gruppenführungen bringen die Zusammenhänge und Hintergründe der Musikinstrumente anschaulich näher. Durch das eigene Spiel auf dem javanischen und balinesischen Gamelan und über das Zusammenspiel von Menschen in einem Ensemble oder Orchester, wird eine anders geartete, aber hochattraktive Musikkultur erfahrbar. Grundfragen von Musikästhetik und -pädagogik werden mit Spaß relativiert.

Bildarchiv

Über das Bildarchiv erhalten Sie digitale Bilddateien in professioneller Qualität von Exponaten der einzelnen Sammlungen.

Eine Auswahl der Porträts im Bestand des Münchner Stadtmuseums finden Sie in unserer Porträtsammlung.