Puppet Theater / Fairground Attraction Collection

The Puppet Theater Collection was established in 1940 in the context of a proposed exhibition on southern German puppetry in Munich. In addition to the numerous items and documents covering traditional puppetry from the end of the 18th century onwards, it contains an array of materials on contemporary forms of non-human performance art. The internationally oriented collection comprises some 13,000 figures, including glove, rod and shadow puppets, marionettes and other mechanized derivations such as the "Theatrum Mundi". It also encompasses complete bequests of puppet show booths, decorations and textbooks.

The collection's key objective lies in documenting popular and professional puppetry in Germany, although it can also claim an impressive range of items from across Europe, Asia and Africa. Mechanized figures and automata also number among the highlights.

Since 1980 the collection has been expanded to include fairground attractions. Extending to vaudeville, the circus and the curiosity shows seen at amusement parks, the collection brings to life the evolution of German fairs and funfairs from the 19th century until the present day. From shooting gallery equipment to a flea circus and the façade decorations from funfair rides, visitors can see everything needed for a successful amusement park of the Oktoberfest genre.

The collection has also evolved into a go-to place for research on popular entertainment. Students of this field regularly use the library, archive and graphics collection for their work.

Beyond special exhibitions, a program featuring puppet shows has been arranged in conjunction with a Munich community group, the “Friends of Puppetry Association”.  Additionally the Munich International Puppet Show Festival is held every two years in collaboration with civic partners.

Since 1950, over 700 puppet shows from more than 30 countries have been presented in cooperation with the "Friends of Puppetry Association." In 2008, the Munich Puppet Show Forum was established with the joint participation of this voluntary organization and the Collection. For more information go to www.figurentheater-gfp.de.

Bildarchiv

Professional-quality digital image files of the exhibits in the various collections can be obtained from our picture gallery. Please refer to the german Bildarchiv for details.

A selection of portraits from the Münchner Stadtmuseum’s total holding is available in our portrait collection.

Sammlung Puppentheater / Schaustellerei

Die Sammlung Puppentheater wurde 1940 im Anschluss an das ein Jahr zuvor in München geplante Ausstellungsprojekt „Das süddeutsche Puppenspiel“ gegründet. Sie besitzt Objekte und Dokumente zu allen Bereichen des traditionellen Puppenspiels ab dem ausgehenden 18. Jahrhundert und Materialien zum zeitgenössischen Figuren- und Objekttheater. Die international ausgerichtete Kollektion umfasst etwa 13.000 Figuren, darunter Hand- und Stabpuppen, Marionetten, Schattenspielfiguren und Sonderformen wie „Theatrum Mundi“ und mechanisches Theater. Hinzu kommen komplette Bühnennachlässe, Dekorationen und Textbücher.

Der Schwerpunkt der Sammlung liegt auf der Erfassung des volkstümlichen und künstlerischen Figurentheaters in Deutschland. Zudem sind reichhaltige Bestände aus anderen europäischen Ländern sowie aus Asien und Afrika verfügbar. Eine Besonderheit bildet der Bestand an mechanisch-beweglichen Figuren und Automaten.

Seit 1980 erweitert die Sammlung ihren Wirkungsbereich auf das Gebiet der Schaustellerei. Mit Blick auf Varieté, Circus und Panoptikum stehen die Attraktionen der deutschen Jahrmärkte und Feste vom 19. Jahrhundert bis zur Gegenwart im Mittelpunkt. Vom Flohcircus über die Schießbudenware bis zur großformatigen Schaustellerfassade von Fahrgeschäften findet sich alles, was zum Vergnügungsbetrieb etwa des Oktoberfestes gehört.

Teil einer Rauminstallation des Bread & Puppet Theaters (USA) im Münchner Stadtmuseum, 2011
Kutsche aus einem Floh-Circus, um 1910
Franz August Schichtl, Plakat für das „Marionetten-Varieté-Theater“, 1906
Fassadenteil des Laufgeschäfts „Die verhexte Kaffeemühle“ von Schausteller Martin Wöhrle aus Berg bei Starnberg, 1955
Dekorationsbild vom Geschäft „Free Fall“ von Schausteller Michael Goetzke, München, 1998
Julius Höfer, Szene aus dem oberbayerischen Marionettentheater
Reklametafel „Dame ohne Unterleib“ aus der Illusionsschau von Lisa Wittersheim, München, 1958
Motorrad „Indian Scout“ aus der Steilwand von Kitty Mathieu, München, 1929

Die Sammlung hat sich zur zentralen Anlaufstelle für Fragen zur populären Unterhaltungskultur entwickelt. Hierzu stehen dem interessierten Forscher die Fachbibliothek, das Archiv und die Graphiksammlung zur Verfügung.

Neben der Ausrichtung von Sonderausstellungen werden in Zusammenarbeit mit einer Fördergesellschaft regelmäßig Theateraufführungen veranstaltet. Zudem findet biennal das Internationale Figurentheaterfestival München in Verbindung mit innerstädtischen Kooperationspartnern statt.

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Gesellschaft zur Förderung des Puppenspiels (GFP) konnten seit 1950 mehr als 700 Gastspiele von Figurentheatern aus mehr als 30 Ländern verwirklicht werden. 2008 gründete die Sammlung Puppentheater mit der GFP das FigurenTheaterForum München. Mehr dazu unter www.figurentheater-gfp.de.

Bildarchiv

Über das Bildarchiv erhalten Sie digitale Bilddateien in professioneller Qualität von Exponaten der einzelnen Sammlungen.

Eine Auswahl der Porträts im Bestand des Münchner Stadtmuseums finden Sie in unserer Porträtsammlung.