Film Museum

With its special program of movie screenings, the Munich Film Museum has become a popular haunt for cinema aficionados. The program, which changes on a daily basis, features comprehensive retrospectives, selected premieres, and theme-related film series including both German and international productions. All of the films are screened in their original format and language (with subtitles available in English or German). Silent movies are frequently shown with live musical accompaniment. And directors, actors and other filmmakers often guest at podium discussions following the showings. The Film Museum is a regular venue for festivals such as Dok.fest. the Munich Film Festival, and the International Festival of Filmschools. Located in the former Royal Stables building of the Münchner Stadtmuseum, the Filmmuseum offers top sound and (digital) film technology, seating for 165, and a silver screen that is also suitable for 3D films.

The Film Museum was founded in 1963 as the Photography and Film Department of the Münchner Stadtmuseum. With its regular screenings, it became Germany's leading municipal cinema and – above all under the aegis of its second director, Enno Patalas, during the 1970s – garnered an international reputation as a film archive. The Film Museum's archives contain approximately 5,000 copies of films, including true cinematic classics, some of which have been reconstructed through years of painstaking work. These include classic silent films such as "Joyless Street," "Metropolis," "The Golem" and "Pharao's Wife," as well as unfinished fragments of movies from the estate of Orson Welles. The collection's major focuses also cover German and Soviet silent movies, early talkies and multilingual movies, avantgarde classics, and productions by Munich filmmakers such as Herbert Achternbusch, Rainer Werner Fassbinder, Wim Wenders, Nicolas Humbert and Werner Penzel.

Through its "edition filmmuseum" (www.edition-filmmuseum.de), the Film Museum has been releasing films and important archive material on DVDs since 2005. The red film schedules – which provide full details of the programs – are published every six months and distributed in the foyer. Anyone subscribing to the Film Museum's newsletter will be e-mailed updates and details of the open-scene events on Thursdays that are frequently arranged at short notice.

Munich Film Museum

Ticket reservations
By telephone only: +49-(0)89-233-96450

Screenings
Tue/Wed/Fri/Sat/Sun 6.30 p.m. and 9.00 p.m.
Thu 7.00 p.m.
Monday: No screenings
Screening times may change if the film exceeds standard duration

Ticket prices
Regular tickets €4.00
Members of Münchner Filmzentrum €3.00
Supplement for very long films or special events €2.00

To the collection

Friends of the Münchner Filmmuseum (MFZ)

Anybody interested in the work of the Filmmuseum can join the MFZ – the Friends of the Munich Filmmuseum. The annual dues of €20 also entitle the member to reduced admission fees to the Filmmuseum as well as participation in the MFZ general membership meetings.

Filmmuseum München

Das Filmmuseum München ist mit seinem speziellen Kinoprogramm ein beliebter Treffpunkt für Cineasten. Auf dem täglich wechselnden Programm stehen umfassende Retrospektiven, thematische Filmreihen mit deutschen und internationalen Produktionen und ausgewählte Erstaufführungen. Die Filme werden grundsätzlich in der Originalfassung (mit deutschen oder englischen Untertiteln) und im Originalformat gezeigt. Stummfilme kommen oft mit Live-Musikbegleitung zur Aufführung. Regelmäßig sind Regisseure, Schauspieler und andere Filmschaffende zu Gast und diskutieren nach der Vorführung mit dem Publikum. Das Filmmuseum ist eine bewährte Spielstätte für Festivals wie DOK.fest, Filmfest München und das Internationale Festival der Filmhochschulen. Im historischen Marstallhaus des Münchner Stadtmuseums gelegen, bietet das Kino mit seinen 165 Plätzen hochwertige Bild- und Tontechnik sowie eine Silberleinwand, auf der auch 3D-Vorführungen möglich sind.

Ernst Lubitsch, Der Blusenkönig, 1917
G. W. Pabst, Die freudlose Gasse, 1925
Manfred Noa, Helena von Troja, 1923
Jakov Protazanov, Aelita, 1924
Orson Welles als Bobby in seinem Kurzfilm London, 1968
Stefan Drößler und Gerhard Ullmann am Schneidetisch
Herbert Achternbusch, Der junge Mönch, 1978
Willkommen im Filmmuseum am St.-Jakobs-Platz!

Das Filmmuseum entstand 1963 als „Abteilung Foto und Film“ des Münchner Stadtmuseums, wurde mit seinen regelmäßigen Filmvorführungen zu Deutschlands erstem kommunalen Kino und entwickelte sich vor allem unter seinem zweiten Leiter Enno Patalas in den 1970er Jahren zu einem Filmarchiv von internationalem Ruf. Das Archiv des Filmmuseums umfasst etwa 6000 Kopien, darunter Klassiker der Filmgeschichte, die zum Teil in jahrelanger Arbeit rekonstruiert wurden. Dazu zählen die Stummfilme wie “Die freudlose Gasse“, “Metropolis“, “Der Golem“ und “Das Weib des Pharao“, ebenso wie Filmfragmente aus dem Nachlass von Orson Welles. Schwerpunkte der Sammlung sind neben deutschen und sowjetischen Stummfilmen frühe Tonfilme und Mehrsprachenversionen, Klassiker des Avantgardefilms sowie Filme von Münchner Regisseuren wie Herbert Achternbusch, Rainer Werner Fassbinder, Wim Wenders, Nicolas Humbert und Alexander Riedel.

Seit 2005 gibt das Filmmuseum München in der Edition filmmuseum Filme und Archivschätze auf DVD heraus. Die roten Programmhefte, die das Filmprogramm ausführlich vorstellen, erscheinen halbjährlich und sind im Foyer des Kinos kostenlos erhältlich. Wenn Sie sich in den Film-Newsletter eintragen, werden Sie über die meist kurzfristigen „Open Scene“-Termine und eventuelle Programmergänzungen per E-Mail informiert.

Filmmuseum München

Kartenvorbestellungen nur telefonisch unter Tel. +49-(0)89-233-96450

Vorführzeiten:
Dienstag / Mittwoch / Freitag / Samstag / Sonntag 18.30 Uhr und 21.00 Uhr
Donnerstag 19.00 Uhr
Montag keine Vorstellung
Bei Überlänge gelten geänderte Vorführzeiten!

Eintrittspreise
Regulär 4 €
Mitglieder des MFZ 3 €
Aufschlag bei Überlänge oder Sonderveranstaltungen 2 €

Programmheft
Das gedruckte Programmheft mit ausführlichen Angaben zu den Filmen ist im Filmmuseum erhältlich. Sie können sich die Programmübersicht und das Programmheft als pdf-Datei herunterladen:

Heft 27 (4. September 2014 bis 5. März 2015)
Programmübersicht (16 Seiten, PDF 445 KB)
Programmheft (100 Seiten, PDF 3 MB)

Förderverein Münchner Filmzentrum (MFZ)

Wer sich für die Arbeit des Filmmuseums interessiert, kann dem Förderverein MFZ e.V. beitreten. Der Jahresbeitrag beträgt 20 € und berechtigt zum ermäßigten Eintritt ins Filmmuseum sowie zur Teilnahme an den Mitgliederversammlungen des MFZ. Die Versammlungen finden einmal im Monat montags um 19 Uhr im Gotischen Zimmer des Ignaz-Günther-Hauses (St.-Jakobs-Platz 20, 80331 München, 1. Stock) statt.
Termine: 10. November 2014, 15. Dezember 2014, 19. Januar 2015 und 9. Februar 2015. Mehr Informationen erhalten Sie unter 0177-728-4681.