Permanent Exhibition: Music

The "Municipal Musical Instrument Collection" (now "Music Collection") dates back to 1940. It evolved from the private collection of Georg Neuner from Munich (1904-1962), whose notion of a "sound museum" still sums up the exhibit today. For almost fifty years it has now been housed on the fourth floor of the Münchner Stadtmuseum. More than half of the current collection, which comprises nearly 6000 instruments and sound sources, hails from outside Europe. The public exhibition represents just a fifth of the museum’s total holding. Thanks to its great diversity, the Münchner Stadtmuseum's Music Collection is one of the leading assemblages of its kind anywhere in the world.

SOUNDLAB.1

The opening of the completely redesigned foyer in 2012 represented a milestone in the Museum's history. The Soundlab (“Sound Laboratory”) sets out to encourage people of all ages to experiment with sound and acoustics. To this end the Museum has created special "test stations", some of which it has developed itself. Visitors are invited to touch the exhibits at these stations and try out the instruments, which should of course be handled with great care. Orange panels point the way through the Music Collection. They describe the individual Soundlab exhibits, supply instructions on what to do and encourage a hands-on experience. Every Soundlab station provides useful and interesting information on the origins of the instruments, and instructions on how to play them. Many also feature audio samples and film footage. No musical skills or knowledge are required! The exhibits demonstrate basic ways of producing sounds and their acoustic effects across a broad array of cultures and traditions. Visitors experience these acoustic phenomena firsthand, bringing the exhibits to life and rendering them “audible”.

Holmxylophon (akadinda), Evaristo Muyinda, Kampala, Uganda, 1986
Langhalslaute (surbahar), Nordindien, um 1950
Lamellophon (kota), Elfenbeinküste
Schlitztrommel, Neuguinea, Ozeanien
Saxophonsatz, Adolphe Sax, Paris, 1860er Jahre

The Foyer

On entering the foyer, visitors are immediately reminded of where they are – in Munich and Bavaria! They are greeted by a traditional brass band, albeit one that "marches" to the combined tune of modern instruments and their musical ancestors. Many of these instruments originate from the city's own instrument makers. The percussion instruments from Turkish Janissary music were also incorporated into Bavarian military bands during the 19th century. A Stub'nmusi ensemble (Bavarian for chamber music), just a few steps on, could scarcely be further removed from the loud, open-air music of a brass band. The "Window onto Orff" leads visitors to a large display cabinet with many original items belonging to the Munich composer Carl Orff. Orff’s works made extensive use of instruments from around the globe, making him the ideal introduction to our collection of world instruments. At a media station, visitors can make neighboring exhibits burst into sound and learn more about the Museum's Music Collection. The “Munich Wall” offers biographical information and sound samples of distinct performers from across Munich’s music scene. Next up is a "cabinet of musical instruments” featuring a seemingly random but wonderful arrangement of some familiar and many largely unknown instruments. Visitors can locate and select them from a special cockpit using a laser pointer and listen to many of the sounds they produce.

Exhibition

The next section is “Africa”, where a selection of the Collection's 800 African instruments can be viewed. The exhibition features instruments from a kaleidoscope of cultures around the world, e.g. ancient clay flutes from Central America and bullroarers from New Guinea. A gargantuan "cannon drum" from northern Thailand marks the beginning of the exhibition's south-east Asian section, the highlight of which is provided by the complete and intricately carved gamelan ensembles from Java and Bali. Visitors on guided tours are given the opportunity to play the glistening bronze gongs and metallophones under supervision. Heading past the many other instruments from Indonesia, the Philippines, Myanmar and Thailand via Tibet to India, and the East Asian countries, visitors reach the Middle Eastern and finally European sections. In addition to hurdy-gurdies and bagpipes, the exhibits here range from special violin constructions through to a skeleton string quartet. The numerous display cabinets provide more information about the diversity of orchestra instruments and their evolution at the hands of renowned local and international instrument makers.

The Music Collection also hosts evening concerts and Sunday matinees featuring well-known artists, amateur performers and promising young musicians.

Guided group tours for schools and kindergartens, juveniles and adults can be booked by calling phone: +49-(0)89-233-22367 or by e-mail: musik.stadtmuseum(at)muenchen.de

Publication

The richly illustrated 384-page catalog “African musical instruments” (only in German language) includes a CD with sample sound recordings. It was published by Nicolai Verlag in 2013 and is on sale for €48.00 at the Museum’s ticket desk and in our online shop.

Dauerausstellung Musik

Seit 1940 gibt es die „Städtische Musikinstrumenten-Sammlung“ (heute: Sammlung Musik), die aus der Privatsammlung des Münchners Georg Neuner (1904-1962) hervorgegangen ist. Neuners „Klangmuseum“ ist mittlerweile seit fast 50 Jahren im vierten Stock des Münchner Stadtmuseums beheimatet. Aus den heute annähernd 6.000 Musikinstrumenten und Klangobjekten der Sammlung Musik stammt über die Hälfte aus nichteuropäischen Ländern. Der öffentlich zugängliche Teil der Sammlung präsentiert gerade einmal ein Fünftel des Gesamtbestandes. Durch diese Vielfalt gehört die Sammlung Musik des Münchner Stadtmuseums zu den großen Sammlungen ihrer Art in Deutschland.

SOUNDLAB.1

Einen besonderen Meilenstein bedeutete die Eröffnung des 2012 neu gestalteten Eingangsbereiches. Geeignet für jedes Alter, will das „Klang-Labor“ mit den zum Teil eigens entwickelten Versuchsstationen zum Experiment mit Klang und Akustik verführen. Anfassen und mitmachen mit Fingerspitzengefühl sind also ausdrücklich erwünscht! Als „roter Faden“ durch die Sammlung Musik dienen die orangefarbenen Tafeln. Sie markieren die Soundlab-Stationen, erklären, wie die Klangstationen zu bedienen sind und regen das Spiel an. Jede Soundlab-Station enthält Wissenswertes zu Herkunft und Spielweise von Instrumenten, oft ergänzt durch Hör- und Filmbeispiele. Musikalische Vorkenntnisse sind nicht notwendig. Die Objekte behandeln grundlegende Mittel und akustische Effekte der Klangerzeugung quer durch die Kulturen und Traditionen. Durch das eigene Erleben der akustischen Phänomene werden auch die ausgestellten Instrumente „hörbar“ und lebendig.

Holmxylophon (akadinda), Evaristo Muyinda, Kampala, Uganda, 1986
Langhalslaute (surbahar), Nordindien, um 1950
Lamellophon (kota), Elfenbeinküste
Schlitztrommel, Neuguinea, Ozeanien
Saxophonsatz, Adolphe Sax, Paris, 1860er Jahre

Eingangsbereich

Der Eingangsbereich holt die Besucher dort ab, wo sie sind - in München und Bayern. Daher marschiert eine Blaskapelle der besonderen Art, gemischt aus heutigen und historischen Vorläufer-Instrumenten. Viele davon stammen von Münchner Instrumentenmachern. Das Schlagwerk einer türkischen Janitscharenmusik wurde im 19. Jahrhundert auch in Bayern integriert. Eine "Stub'nmusi" gegenüber ist das Gegenstück zur lauten Freiluft-Blasmusik. Hier leitet ein "Fensterl zum Orff" über zu einer großen Vitrine mit vielen Originalen aus dem Besitz des Münchner Komponisten Carl Orff. Er setzte ausgiebig Instrumente aus allen Erdteilen in seinen Werken ein und wird also zu unserem Drehpunkt zu den Instrumenten der Welt. An einer Medienstation kann man die nebenstehenden Vitrinen zum Klingen bringen und manches über die Sammlung Musik erfahren. Auch die Lebensdaten sowie Musikbeispiele zu den an der "München-Wand" abgebildeten Persönlichkeiten des Münchner Musiklebens aller Sparten sind hier abrufbar. Nun kommt man in ein "Kabinett der Musikinstrumente", das teils bekannte und viele unbekannte Instrumente in einer chaotischen aber attraktiven Auswahl präsentiert, die man von einem Cockpit aus per Laserpointer ausfindig machen, zuordnen und meist auch hören kann.

Ausstellung

Dahinter liegt "Afrika". Die Vitrinen zeigen eine Auswahl aus den 800 Instrumenten verschiedener afrikanischer Länder der Sammlung Musik. Danach trifft man auf Instrumente weiterer Kulturen: antike Tonflöten aus Mittelamerika oder Schwirrhölzer aus Neuguinea. Eine riesige „Kanonentrommel“ aus Nordthailand führt in den südostasiatischen Bereich mit reich beschnitzten und vollständigen Gamelan-Ensembles aus Java und Bali im Zentrum. Auf den Gongs und Metallophonen aus glänzend polierter Bronze wird unter Anleitung bei Gruppenführungen auch gespielt. Vorbei an vielen anderen Instrumenten aus Indonesien, Philippinen, Myanmar, Thailand über Tibet nach Indien und China führen Instrumente aus dem Mittleren und Nahen Osten nach Europa. Neben Drehleier und Dudelsack, sieht man Sonderformen von Violinen bis hin zu einem Totenkopf-Streichquartett. Die Vielfalt und Entwicklung der Orchesterinstrumente von bekannten heimischen und internationalen Instrumentenbauern kann man in den vielen Vitrinen entdecken.

In der Sammlung Musik werden Sonntagsmatineen und Abendkonzerte mit namhaften Künstlern sowie mit Laienmusikern und dem musikalischen Nachwuchs veranstaltet.

Gruppenführungen für Jugendgruppen, Schulklassen, Kindergärten und Erwachsene können unter Tel. 089-233-22367 oder per E-Mail unter: musik.stadtmuseum(at)muenchen.de gebucht werden.

Publikation

Der reich bebilderte Katalog „Afrikanische Musikinstrumente“ mit Begleit-CD ist 2013 im Nicolai Verlag erschienen und umfasst 384 Seiten. Er ist zum Preis von 48,00 € an der Museumskasse und im Online-Shop erhältlich.